Using Python packages in Julia

I’ve not used either Python or Julia (my background is C++/Bash/Perl/Mathematica), but was thinking about learning one or the other, and have a naive question about Julia:

Many Python users say they’d “love to use Julia, but need to stay with Python because of the packages.” This confuses me, because I thought Julia had the capability to use Python packages. Given this, what’s the issue? Is it that packages built for Python can be buggy in Julia? Or is it that using a Python package in Julia is somehow more cumbersome than using it natively in Python? [Relatedly, when using a Python package in Julia, does one use Python syntax or Julia syntax? I ask because I’ve never used a package written for one language in another language.] Or is there some other set of issues?

[The big ones, for me, would be NumPy and SciPy, but it would of course be nice to have access to all of them.]

1 Like

PyCall.jl is solid, and usage is pretty straightforward. That said, using it fluidly requires fluency in both Julia and Python, since the syntax ends up midway between both. If the core of your work revolves around a large library with a Python frontend (e.g. Tensorflow, OpenCV), better to just write Python, but if you’re doing à la carte numerical work, give Julia a try. You can call Python as needed, but you’ll probably find that almost everything in NumPy and SciPy can be done natively with Julia packages.

6 Likes

Definitely this. NumPy and SciPy are necessary in Python to make numerical computing fast, but Julia arrays are far nicer to work with (and I assume just as fast).

3 Likes

I actually wasn’t thinking of NumPy for its computational speed-up. Rather I thought I might need it for the list-manipulation functions, like numpy.array_split. But perhaps these are already present in Julia.