Are Python packages called in julia faster than in python

Hi guys,
basicly this. I am not a computer scientist, but I am curious, if I call a python package with julia, does it run faster than in python? Or is it the same or even slower.

Not faster, can be slower if the objects being passed to Python and back to Julia have to be converted somehow.

3 Likes

So, if I want to use SciPy functions with increased perfomance, should I write them de novo in julia or is it enough to use something like GitHub - AtsushiSakai/SciPy.jl: Julia interface for SciPy . On the first glamps it just uses pycall, doesn’t it?

Yes, It says it is an interface

“ A Julia interface for SciPy using PyCall.jl.”.

A lot of the algorithms in SciPy are implemented in C so they are not bottlenecked by Python itself. Of course, trying to implement them in Julia is a good idea but it will probably not be very easy to beat Scipy performance since a lot of smart people have worked on those for a long time.

3 Likes

A lot of scipy functionality is already in Julia or in a package. Is there something specific you’re looking for?

1 Like

I computed two neighbor based graphs and want to calculate the distance between them. I have python code, but I am trying to get into julia, hoping I could speed up the calculations. And for fun of course.

From the scipy package I would use cdist, hierarchy, pearsonsr, the dijkstra algorythm, and some sparse matrix stuff.

1 Like

Just translating algorithms from scipy to Julia isn’t likely to speed them up in general, though it might if you’re good.

But if you have knowledge of special properties of your problem, or if you are stringing together multiple operations in a particular way, then you could write custom versions of the algorithms for your own case, that uses algorithmic shortcuts. Then you could get significant speedups in Julia that would be difficult in scipy.

Check out Distances.jl

2 Likes

I’ll, thank you