Using MATLAB Package with R2022b and R2021b downloaded

Hello,

I am trying to use the MATLAB package, which I have read has a bug with both the R2022a and R2022b Matlab versions. I have R2021b installed, but when I attempt to build the package, it returns an error because it recognizes the copy of R2022b. On my other device, where I only have R2021b installed, it works fine. I still use Matlab for other purposes, so I need to keep a copy of the most recent version for that. Is there a way I can tell Julia to “look past” the R2022b copy of Matlab and find the R2021b copy? Or must I uninstall R2022b to make this work?

Thanks!

Probably you must change the search order in your path such that R2021b is found first.

1 Like

How would I do that? Sorry, I am quite new to this language

That’s not a Julia operation. You’d do that on OS side (Windows? Search the web on how to change the path)

It’s not Windows, I have a Mac.

Don’t remember how Matlab installs on Mac and how it gets found. Maybe it’s in your .profile or .bashrc. Where paths are declared. Sorry, you’ll to find that out (or some Macker helps you).

Going off the MATLAB.jl readme, you could try

pkg> rm MATLAB
julia> ENV["MATLAB_ROOT"] = "/Applications/MATLAB_R2012b.app"
pkg> add MATLAB

Replace the right-hand side with the path to your MATLAB app path if it’s different (you can click on the app and do Option-Command-C to copy the path to clipboard).

3 Likes

Thank you! This worked in the sense that it now recognized R2021b, but I am now getting another error. It says LoadError: could not load library “/Applications/MATLAB_R2021b.app/bin/maci64/libmx”
dlopen(/Applications/MATLAB_R2021b.app/bin/maci64/lixmx.dylib, 1): no suitable image found.

Do you know what that means?

It means that the path to the library file that it thinks should be there
/Applications/MATLAB_R2021b.app/bin/maci64/lixmx.dylib