Using JuMP to solve the heat equation - performance tips requested

Hello everyone! I am studying MSc Mechatronics and currently working on my scientific project. It is regarding making the Julia code of 1D Heat equation faster. With this message, I have also attached the Julia source code. I had some ideas which I can implement but unsure of that. I have listed them below. I request everyone to enlighten me whether I am going in the right direction. Your ideas and suggestions are also most welcomed.

(1) While defining the system matrix and matrix A, maybe I can use “Staticarrays.jl” instead of “spdiagm”. Is it possible? If yes, how can I implement it?

(2) Searching for other optimizers instead of “Ipopt”.

(3) Can I use “Import Ipopt.optimizer” instead of using the whole library in the code? (Using whole library may occupy a lot more space and can also make the program slower to run).

Thank you for your time and I hope to receive suggestions and ideas!

I think you should profile the code to see where the bottlenecks are. Unless the execution is really quick, (3) is probably irrelevant. (1) may or may not make any difference.

• For N = 11 you can probably either use StaticArrays or just normal vectors! Sparse matrices will only slow down things here.

(I don’t know what the scope of your project is, but PDE constrained optimisation is a big topic with very elegant and useful algorithms to compute the gradients faster with so-called adjoint equations.)

Two recommendations: first, carefully read and apply the performance tips, particularly the admonition to avoid non-constant global variables. Second, please share your code as text wrapped in triple backticks so other users can easily read and copy-paste it (see here).