Updated CSV reader benchmarks?

An update for Julia 1.7.2 on Jupyter notebooks:

This wasn’t an exact duplicate since I used CSV.read("file_name.csv", SinkType) for convenience (and I vaguely recall someone mentioning it does slightly better on memory since it avoids some shenanigans with column headers which appears to be true from this benchmark):

I decided to try only using CSV.read and here’s what I got:

I think you should have started a new thread. Also, why the allocations for pydf = pd.read_csv("test_data.csv") are so low. I believe the size of the CSV is probably larger than that, so in the end you seem to be getting two distinct things, i.e., you are not getting a Julia object of the same format with both approaches.

1 Like

Forgive me a bit, but what do you mean by “started a new thread”? :thinking: I’m still relatively new to the Discourse platform, so I’m not sure what you mean.

Also, why the allocations for pydf = pd.read_csv("test_data.csv") are so low. I believe the size of the CSV is probably larger than that, so in the end you seem to be getting two distinct things, i.e., you are not getting a Julia object of the same format with both approaches.

Ah, thanks for catching that. :+1: I think the notebook was truncating an error or something, because I got something different doing

@btime pydf = pd.read_csv("test_data.csv")

through the terminal in VS Code. It gave this:

C:\Users\kevin\.julia\conda\3\lib\site-packages\pandas\util\_decorators.py:311: DtypeWarning: Columns (3) have mixed types. Specify dtype option on import 
or set low_memory=False.
  return func(*args, **kwargs)

Which repeated a bunch of times in the terminal until it spat out something similar to the benchmark time I posted before:

704.192 ms (5 allocations: 272 bytes)

The weird part is that the terminal displays part of the data correctly (but it maybe it’s defaulting the the last valid input?).

In any case, I adjusted the pd.read_csv("test_data.csv") to