Two conditions in a while -> ERROR: TypeError: non-boolean (BitMatrix) used in boolean context

Hallo,

I am new to Julia and this is the first time I ever ask for help in a forum, so please let me know if I can improve my post.

My problem:
Let dR and dW be functions from R^2R^{n \times n}.
There exists a pair (i,j) such that dR(i,j) < \epsilon and dW(i,j)< \epsilon.
Goal: find (i,j)

Hence I want to run a loop like

while dR(i,j) .> 0.01 || dW(i,j).> 0.01
do something until there is (i,j) such that dR(i,j) < 0.01 AND dW(i,j) < 0.01

However, I get the following ERROR: TypeError: non-boolean (BitMatrix) used in boolean context

I am thankful for any help!

1 Like

Hi and welcome!

It’s generally more useful to include your code between triple backticks (ie ``` on a blank line at the start and end).

The error you’re getting here is that dR(i,j) .> 0.01 calculates a matrix of booleans that are true wherever that condition holds. You simply need

while any(dR(i,j) .> 0.01) || any(dW(i,j) .> 0.01)

The two functions any and all reduce a collection using || or &&.

When you say dR(i, j), do you mean the function dR evaluated at the point (i, j), or the number located at index ij in the n \times n matrix that is returned by dR?.

@screw_dog is correct with some options that might get rid of the error message, but the core issue is that this logic is currently ambiguous. What does it mean for a matrix to be less than a number?

1 Like

Hi,

thank you very much for your response and advices! I did not know about the any and all functions, so thank you for that too.

Does while any(dR(i,j) .> 0.01) || any(dW(i,j) .> 0.01)