There is so much great stuff happening in RISC-V land

Like this substantial “microcontroller board” that actually has 64MB of RAM for $9

And this monster server with 64 cores for the price of a typical gaming machine.

Debians next release will include RISCV as an architecture.

It would be amazing to be running algorithms for processing data on little riscV boards running Julia. Just saying. I’m sure someone is working on this, any luck so far?

15 Likes

I just talked about this with one of our researchers… he mentioned that it will be nice if we can run Julia on Polarfire SOC: https://www.microchip.com/en-us/development-tool/mpfs-icicle-kit-es and maybe offload some of the computations on the FPGA fabric.

Unfortunately as now only @alexfanqi is working on a RISC-V port of Julia: https://github.com/alexfanqi/julia/blob/master/doc/src/devdocs/build/riscv.md . Thinking to help, but I’m not a compiler expert and I have no idea who knows compiler either

Some previous discussions:

2 Likes

For an introduction on how to cross-compile Julia code for microcontrollers, this JuliaCon 2023 talk might be a useful starting point:

https://seelengrab.github.io/articles/Running%20Julia%20baremetal%20on%20an%20Arduino/

1 Like

I’d love to play around with RISC-V, but unfortunately I don’t have a board/chip with one :frowning:

However, I have recently gotten a Teensy 4.0, for which I’m slowly preparing the basic necessities (such as TeensyLoaderCLI.jl, which is a wrapper around their loading application) for development for. The basic workflow should be the same for all of these boards - however, that also means the challenges (such as allocation, lack of a runtime etc) are also the same.

It’s also important to note that there’s a big difference between running the Julia runtime (the existing one) on an OS that runs on RISC-V, versus running Julia code (without an OS) baremetal on the chip. The former is what @alexfanqi is doing; the latter is what I’m interested in.