The Run button doesn't work

Hi dear friends, Thanks for reading my Message,
I am a newbie.I don’t know why the Run button in Julia doesn’t work and I have to copy the code and paste it in REPL.
Is there any option I can solve my problem or an option like run by step in MATLAB in Julia??

The code actually runs but doesn’t print anything so you don’t see anything.

// Edit
It’s confusing because the line head julia> does not appear again like in the REPL so it looks like nothing happened.

1 Like

You may need to click somewhere inside the code to make that tab active before clicking Run will work. That may not be the issue in your case, but it is a quirk that sometimes gets me.

There are options to run line-by-line. See the documentation here.

If your code did run, then your variables will show up underneath the “Workspace” tab. Check there.

1 Like

Another possible problem is that you haven’t saved your file. Save and Run are separated in Atom unlike Matlab. I install this package in Atom Settings, so I don’t have to worry about it.

1 Like

Thanks for the response dear friend,
actually the end of the code has a plot order and when I copy it and paste it in REPL it works.
when I even use a simple order like print somthing still it doen’t work

I really apreciate the time you spnet and link you gave me. I have checked your suggestion already and I saved my code but still it doesn’t work.
I think it has something to do with my windows which is 10. I borrowed my friend’s loptop which has windows 7. I installed the same Julia and Atoms. In his loptop the Run button works properly.

Hmm, well you can try uninstalling and reinstalling the programs. They should work on Windows 10 too.

Before that though, I would like to confirm whether the program is not running or whether it is not printing anything. Can you add this line to your code: println("it ran") and try again? You might need to place your plot command inside the display() function to get it to appear.