Substituting elements of array is very slow

I am new to Julia and I have problems with the speed. What is the fastest way to replace rows in an array? Currently I iterate over any entry of a matrix and when the result of the associated calculation is nonzero, I store the position (row and col) and the value (aval) in an additional array that will serve for sparse matrix allocation at a later stage of the code.

The code here is a nonsense simplified example to get to the point. On my computer, the replacements in the if condition triple the computation time from around 0.04 seconds to 0.12 seconds. What am I doing wrong here?

Thanks in advance.

function testfun02(M)
    nrow, ncol = size(M);
    spidx = Array{Float64, 2}(undef, nrow, 3);
    numit = 1;

for j02 = 1:ncol, j01 in 1:nrow
        aval = M[j01,j02]*(j01+j02);
        if aval > 0;
            spidx[numit,1] = j01;
            spidx[numit,2] = j02;
            spidx[numit,3] = aval;
            numit +=1;
        end
    end
    return(spidx);
end

B = Matrix{Float64}(I, 10000, 10000);
@time testfun02(B);

Do you mean if the function is written like this:

function testfun02(M)
    nrow, ncol = size(M);
    numit = 1;

aval = M[j01,j02]*(j01+j02)
    end

return spidx
end

It takes just 0.04 seconds? If I were you, I’d be surprised it took that long in the first place - after all, that function isn’t doing any real calculation that can be observed after the call.

Other than that, I think your iteration order is wonky - check Access arrays in memory order, along columns for more info.

1 Like

Exactly. Of course, I know that it does not return anything interesting, I am more interested in the original function, but I wanted to dissect the problem and find out where it takes time. And for this purpose, he function seems reasonable. I checked the iteration order but I think it is fine.

I don’t think so:

julia> function testfun04(M)