Package Manager Documentation

Improving package documentation

Today I decided to try and do something constructive to improve the documentation for the Julia Package Manager. As I am very confused by it and a total noob when it comes to package systems, I feel that I am the (at times) uniquely qualified individual for outlining some of the things in the current documentation that might be difficult for new users.

I will lay out my suggestions in a series of posts in this thread. I am working from the current documentation, which I believe to be:

https://julialang.github.io/Pkg.jl/v1/

Note: I’m not giving any answers here if you’ve come looking for info on the package system!

Thanks to those who wrote and documented the package system

Before I begin, I want to express my genuine gratitude to the many individuals who have implemented the package manager and those who have contributed to the documentation. I will be very blunt in my suggestions below, but only because I want to get the business done, not because I don’t appreciate the many individuals who have worked on this.

Glancing through the documentation I see the names kristoffer, frederikekre, stefan, so at least these individuals give away that they should be thanked. I am sure there are many others.

Assumed knowledge of package system user

I will assume that a reader of the documentation uses Julia, that they know they need to install packages in order to do anything beyond the core language in Julia. I will therefore assume that the topic of the documentation is packages and that this is the unit of measure, unless explicitly stated otherwise. Obviously as a developer of a number of packages, I cannot pretend to not know what a package is.

However, I will not assume that the reader is a new user. The documentation has to serve for package developers just as well as for new users.

Note that I have read the entire documentation through once before making any comments here.

Abbreviations