Different Methods of Creating a Pkg?

I’m new to creating pkgs in Julia and have found two methods that work. I’m interested to know if what I’ve written here is accurate and if those with more experience or an opinion on the process would share their input. For this discussion, it’s really about a beginner learning how Julia manages the process, not preparing a licensed pkg for GitHub. No IDE, nor am I using the excellent PkgTemplates.jl method here either.

Both methods begin in Julia REPL - pkg> generate HelloWorld. It is where and how activation is done that differs.

**Method 1: activate . (creates empty project)

include("HelloWorld/src/HelloWorld.jl")
  • Activation: Sets the current directory as the active environment using activate ..
  • Inclusion: Executes code directly with include from the specified file (HelloWorld/src/HelloWorld.jl).
  • Environment: Dependencies are resolved based on the active environment’s Project.toml file.
  • Portability: May lack portability as it relies on a similar environment.

**Method 2: activate ./HelloWorld

`import HelloWorld`
  • Activation: Uses activate ./HelloWorld to activate the environment defined by Project.toml in the HelloWorld directory.
  • Inclusion: Accesses exported functionality from the HelloWorld module with import.
  • Environment: Encapsulates the project’s dependencies and environment details within the package.
  • Portability: Preferred for sharing projects, providing a self-contained environment for easy replication.

While Method 1 can get a beginner going and is easy to practice, it is Method 2 that is used in the Julia Documentation (5. Creating Pkgs). Once past the learning stage, it seems that Method 2 is actually required - particularly for sharing projects. It ensures a self-contained environment, simplifying replication for others by encapsulating dependencies and environment details within the package.

Thanks for any input.

1 Like