Solving simple electrostatic problem

I’m fairly new to PDE solving domain. Being overwhelmed with what julia offers GitHub - JuliaPDE/SurveyofPDEPackages: Survey of the packages of the Julia ecosystem for solving partial differential equations, I could decide on the best way to solve my simple 2d electrostatic problem with Dirichlet boundary conditions. I want to find voltage (or E field) inside a circular region with almost parallel plates. Voltage obeys Laplace’s equation with the boundary conditions drawn in the following picture.

A have looked at Ferrite.jl and it seemed like an overkill for my problem. I have looked at @ChrisRackauckas 's awesome tutorial Solving PDEs in Julia - Nextjournal, it helped but there were so many packages listed there.

My wishes are the following:

1. Good accuracy, the plates would be barely tilted with respect to each other (maybe a fine mesh would be needed)
  2. No external program meshing, I’d like julia to do it (as the geometry is fairly simple)

Best,

I would recommend Gridap https://github.com/gridap/Gridap.jl .
Gridap uses the finite element method. You basically has to write the equations in weak form almost exactly as you would by hand. Just checkout the examples and tutorials and you will find something useful.

4 Likes

You can use Gmsh.jl to mesh the geometry within Julia (with the help of the gmsh library under the hood) for use with Gridap.jl.

Is there a user-friendly documentation for this package?
This is not the first time we see Julia packages that refer to something else, that refer to …

1 Like

Are you sure you want to have the boundary conditions like this? In fact, you have three electrodes now with a given potential. Is that what you want? I suspect you may want to have just the two electrodes, each with a given potential, and the boundaries modelled as if they were far away from the electrodes.