Slow precompile time with ControlSystems.jl

I’m new to Julia, and I’m excited at the Control Systems design capability! I’m using macOS Catalina on a late 2013 MacBook Pro (2.4 GHz duel-core i5).

I understand the initial startup will take longer than subsequent startups due to just in time compiling, and other concepts I don’t fully understand! But I’m finding extremely long pre-compile times when loading ControlSystems.jl. Is this typical, or an indication that something is wrong? It’s odd to me that the package requires 1.418 GiB, is that typical for packages?

julia> @time using ControlSystems
[ Info: Precompiling ControlSystems [a6e380b2-a6ca-5380-bf3e-84a91bcd477e]
139.132995 seconds (26.78 M allocations: 1.418 GiB, 0.37% gc time)

I know this is a basic question, I’d appreciate someone pointing me in the right direction!

Hello and welcome to the community! Which versions of Julia and Controlsystems.jl are you using? The precompile time can be quite long, in particular if you haven’t previously precompiled Ordinarydiffeq.jl

This is just the total amount of memory allocated during the operation. You can ignore it.

2 Likes

Thank you! I’m using the following versions:

julia> versioninfo()
Julia Version 1.5.0
Commit 96786e22cc (2020-08-01 23:44 UTC)
Platform Info:
  CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4258U CPU @ 2.40GHz
  WORD_SIZE: 64
  LIBM: libopenlibm
  LLVM: libLLVM-9.0.1 (ORCJIT, haswell)
"ControlSystems"        => v"0.6.0"

That makes sense, sounds good. So the 2+ minute pre-compile time typical for weaker laptops then?

Thank you! To check my understanding, is 1.1418 GiB the amount that each package keeps in memory after using Package? Or is that memory unallocated after loading. Seems like the memory is unallocated.

It’s the total amount that was allocated (cumulative sum) during loading. Almost all of it will have been unallocated.

1 Like