Why is my package precompiled on every startup?

Hello,

I’m relatively new to Julia and and just diving into the waters of creating a package.

The Problem
The problem that I am having is that every time I do using MyPkg for the first time in the REPL the package takes a significant amount of time (~33 seconds) to load.

My current understanding
From reading through the documentation I thought that the idea of precompilation is that I essentially pay a one time penalty for compiling the package.
In return, as long as it doesn’t change, subsequent loading should be very quick.
Is this incorrect?

(Side note: This is where I understand Revise.jl comes in, essentially, in helping me avoid shutting down the REPL and thus having to recompile a package upon restart.)

A few other points/questions

• This is does not appear to be the behavior I see with registered packages (e.g. JuMP). That is, these package load much more quickly.
  • I have this issue when I dev my package in the default environment (v1.5.3) as well as when I cd into the project folder and activate it with ] activate .
  • It is certainly possible (read: probable) that my package is not written optimally. Short of simply improving my code, if my understanding of precompilation is incorrect is there anything similar to what I’m describing that can be use (i.e. as long as the code does not change it does not need to go through precompile again)?

Thanks for your help,
Eran

1 Like

Can you provide the code of your package or a simplified version that shows this problem?

Without that it is hard to guess what your problem is.