Slow and Memory intensive For Loop

Hi Julians,

I am still a novice in Julia. I am writing a code to import/read a total 16 data (.txt) files each having 504*1025 matrix. Essentially trying to make a 3D data cube from the 2D datasets using a For loop. But it takes 6.9 seconds for the code with 22 M allocation. I will really appreciate any suggestions and advice to make the code faster. Please see the code below:

using Gtk4
using DelimitedFiles

function LoopScans()
   file_path = open_dialog("My Open dialog")
   file_location, filename = dirname(file_path), basename(file_path)
   Rawdata = readdlm(file_path)'

file_name, file_ext = split(filename, ".")
   filestring, ScanIndex = match(r"[A-Za-z]+", file_name).match, parse(Int, match(r"\d+", file_name).match)

files = readdir(file_location)
   # Filter files based on the pattern
   matching_files = filter(f -> occursin(filestring * r"\d+\." * file_ext, f), files)
   isempty(matching_files) && throw(ArgumentError("No files found matching pattern"))

sample_data = readdlm(joinpath(file_location, matching_files[1]))'
   allScans = Array{Float64, 3}(undef, size(sample_data)..., length(matching_files))

for (ii, file) in enumerate(matching_files)
       allScans[:, :, ii] = readdlm(joinpath(file_location, file))'
   end

return allScans
end
@time LoopScans()

6.968473 seconds (23.50 M allocations: 961.212 MiB, 3.03% gc time, 5.37% compilation time)
1025Ă—504Ă—16 Array{Float64, 3}:

Welcome to the forum!

Some remarks:

1. please, enclose any code you share in triple back-ticks like ```
  2. if you call a function the first time it gets compiled, so call it a second time to determine the execution time
  3. avoid global variables if you need fast execution time

Finally, in this line:

allScans[:, :, ii] = readdlm(joinpath(file_location, file))

try to replace = with .= to avoid allocations.

1 Like