Silly question. How to add a row to array?

Very simple question. Please help me.

a= [2 3; 5 6]
push!(a, [1 2]) - does’t work
append!(a, [1 2]) - doesn’t work

thanks

1 Like

vcat (hcat for columns)

2 Likes

thanks,
Way push and append doesn’t work?
Why so many different words ?

not sure, i think it’s related to memory layout, you need allocate additional space. vcat will copy all data to a new array. search docs for “concatenation”

But I don’t need to create new a array, it will be very inefficiently!!

Unfortunately, there is no vcat!

Does anybody know how to add, not create new one?

thanks

I really understand your pain:

If you need to add new row and still have Array, not lazy iterator, you need to move data to make place for this new bytes. Allocating new array may be perfect, just copy data, and GC will free old one.

I’m not an expert, but when I used MATLAB, dynamically adding rows was a bad idea. The recommended strategy in MATLAB is to know the size of the object in advance, and then just insert elements in the allocated space. In other words, in MATLAB:

x = []
for i = 1:10
   x = [x;i]
end

is slow, because you constantly need to shuffle around x in memory, and reallocate space.
The faster solution is (apologies if I have forgotten the correct MATLAB syntax):

x = zeros(10)
for i = 1:10 
   x[i] = i;
end

I would assume that similar ideas are valid in Julia. In other words, if you know the number of rows in your array, you allocate the memory at the outset, and fill in the values. Efficiency may also be gained by filling in column-wise, etc., I assume.

I’m sure some Julia experts can correct me, and point to the best ways to do this.

2 Likes

[1:10;] or [i for i in 1:10] or will do the same, much shorter. @BMval, could you give more context what you are trying to? What is the reason you need concatenation?

dear @Jakub_Wronowski, I think @BLI is right, it’s better to allocate the memory at the begging since I know exactly, how many I need.