Setting up Dict example puzzled by syntax and functionality

Hi all
noob here. I am SLOWLY learning how to code properly in julia and trying NOT to bring my python baggage with me. I’ve set myself a high level goal and sub divided it into tasks. So I wanted to read a csv and put it into a Dict. I read up on Dicts, pretty standard stuff, and then thought to look for an example to reverse engineer. I found one and it contains the following code

the csv file

state,abbrev,fips
alabama,AL,01
alaska,AK,02
arizona,AZ,04

the code I found.

states_dict = Dict(
    "headers" => [Dict("text" => "Name", "value" => "name"), Dict("text" => "Abbreviation", "value" => "abbrev"), Dict("text" => "FIPS", "value" => "fips")],
    "states" => [Dict("name" => states[1][i,1], "abbrev" => states[1][i,2], "fips" => states[1][i,3]) for i in 1:size(states[1],1)]
)

I can see what it does but am confused about HOW to track down some aspects of the solution.

I don’t understand the relationship of headers “name” to states “name” in this case?

AND

how to track down how this works. I can see WHAT it does but can’t find anywhere that explains how “text” is defined. vscode gave me nothing.

"text" => "Name",
 [Dict("name" => states[1][i,1]

this looks highly contrived, just use CSV.jl.

It looks like states[1] is a N x 3 matrix, so on each row (ith row), you have 3 elements, corresponding to what you see in the CSV

"text" is a literal string, it doesn’t need to defined before this because it’s not a variable.

3 Likes

Hi there,

I get that bit, it’s just a comprehension and makes sense to me. It’s the relationship of “name” from headers to the “name” in states. Again, I can see what it does but not how it does it.

Why Dicts? The code you posted looks pretty nonsensical to me tbh.

What’s wrong with CSV.read(“mycsv.csv", DataFrame) ?

1 Like