Unable to create a dict from split

Hello !

I am relatively new in the Julia world, but it appears to be a cool language I work with more and more.
I encounter an issue that Google and Wikis hasn’t been able to resolve ; maybe this is really easy, but I am coming from PHP and some concepts are hard to fit in my brain.

In the example case I describe to you, here’s the issue :
I have a file with 40000 CSV lines, where every line is divide in different columns :

79373,37336,something,here,also,again

To manage these 40000 lines, I would like to run a loop on them, using eachline(). It works fine, I am now able to explode every single line using the split() function. But, for an easier understanding, I would like to change the key names from 1,2,3,4… to something more like “id”, “subscription”, creating a new variable.

In PHP, I would do something like this :

$elements = explode(",", $line)
$data = [
  "id" => $elements[0],
  "subscription" => $elements[1],
];

But in Julia, it appears impossible

data["id"] = elements[1]
ERROR: ArgumentError: invalid index: id
Stacktrace:
 [1] setindex!(::Array{SubString{String},1}, ::SubString{String}, ::String) at ./abstractarray.jl:968

I heard about Dict(), but I cannot find any working method using it.
Do you have any idea how to do this kind of operations ?

Regards :slight_smile:

The documentation of Dict would be a good starting point. Also, please post a complete working example, especially how you create data.

That said, I would just use an existing package to read CSV, eg CSV.jl.

Do you think something like this?

julia> file = IOBuffer("""1,A
       2,B
       3,C
       3,D""");  # I just want to simulate file here

julia> [Dict((:id=>i[1],:elements=>i[2])) for k in eachline(file) for i in [split(k,',')]]
4-element Array{Dict{Symbol,SubString{String}},1}:
 Dict(:id=>"1",:elements=>"A")
 Dict(:id=>"2",:elements=>"B")
 Dict(:id=>"3",:elements=>"C")
 Dict(:id=>"3",:elements=>"D")

Hi,