Running NUTS with a categorical prior?

Hello guys.

I’m new to Turing.jl and I’m having some trouble building my model. It is supposed to be a relatively simple model. I have a forward operator called “MT” that takes 3 vectors as input (d,rho,f) and outputs “expectedrho”. I am trying to do bayesian inference over the vector d. When I choose d to be a Uniform distribution, I can sample the posterior using NUTS for example. However, to make the code more efficient, I would like to pre-define the possible states of d. The closer that I’ve got is using a Caterorical Uniform distribution (check code below), but this code only runs with Particle Gibbs and MH. All the hamiltonian samplers fail.

Does anyone have experience sampling from categorical distributions? My problem comes down to: “The value can be anywhere between 1 and 5000, but for computational efficiency, only try with the integers”.

@model function mt_bayes_grandis(rhoref,d)
    #Prior distribution of the depth for the first layer
    f=10 .^range(-3,3,300)
    k=length(d)
    rho ~ filldist(Categorical(ones(5000) / 5000),k)
    expectedrho,expectedphi = MT_mod_wait_bayes_cells(d,rho,f)
    for i in eachindex(rhoref)
        rhoref[i] ~ Normal(expectedrho[i],10)
    end
    return d
end;

Thanks in advance for any comment you can share

Hamiltonian monte Carlo/NUTS requires continuous distributions, so this is not actually efficient.

No, HMC requires continuous parameters.

You can use discrete distributions in Turing.jl.
Check this tutorial on Categorical Regression: Bayesian Ordinal Regression

1 Like

Sorry I should have been more precise you’re absolutely right the parameters require continuous measures.

However in this case the OP is defining a parameter rho to have a categorical distribution and that’s why it won’t NUTS.

Oh I see, yes this won’t run in HMC/NUTS.
Either use another MCMC Sampler or marginalize out the discrete parameters, see Chapter 7 of the Stan’s User Guide.