Help translating a JAGS model to Turing

I’m a beginner with Turing.jl, and am just trying to get to grips with it by translating some examples from the book Bayesian Cognitive Modelling: a practical course. I’ve had some luck with a number of models, but have gotten stuck with this model…

WinBUGS/JAGS

model{
  # Observed Returns
  for (i in 1:m){
     k[i] ~ dbin(theta,n)
  }   
  # Priors on Rate Theta and Number n
  theta ~ dbeta(1,1)
  n ~ dcat(p[])
  for (i in 1:nmax){
    p[i] <- 1/nmax
  }
}

where the observed data is:

nmax = 500
k = [16 18 22 25 27]
m = length(k)

Turing

using Turing, StatsPlots

@model function survey(k, p)
    m = length(k)
    θ ~ Beta(1, 1)    
    n ~ Categorical(p)
    for i in 1:m
        k[i] ~ Binomial(n, θ)
    end
end

# data
k = [16, 18, 22, 25, 27]
nmax = 500
p = ones(nmax)/nmax
# sample
chain = sample(survey(k, p), HMC(0.05, 10), 1000)
# plot
marginalkde(chain[:n], chain[:θ])

but it gives this error upon sampling

ERROR: InexactError: Int64(329.0074058217222)

I suspect it’s something to do with n ~ Categorical(p) but would appreciate any pointers to fix this.

I’m certainly no expert on MCMC, but I suspect that HMC requires everything in your model to be differentiable, but the Integer components are not. What happens if you choose another sampler, like Metropolis Hastings?

2 Likes

Perfect… I got too fixated on the model specification, I forgot to think about the sampling algorithm. That works fine with MH() as the sampler. Thanks very much

FYI for problems like this you could use the Gibbs compositional sampler to use HMC and friends to sample θ and another sampler like PG to sample discrete parameters like n, e.g.

chain = sample(survey(k, p), Gibbs(HMC(0.1, 10, :θ), PG(10, :n)), 1000)

see for instance the HMM tutorial.

3 Likes