Resources for creating first package

Hi everyone,

I have been reading the message boards for some time now and it seems like the people in the community are quite friendly, so I thought I might get more involved.

I have some Julia code that I want to convert into a package. However, I am an economist and many of us write code that is fit for purpose, normally with teaching or research in mind. My code is written mostly as a composition of different functions. I have not written the code to specifically utilize the type system in Julia. In other words, I have not created my own types and utilized structs, etc.

My understanding of the type system is relatively solid, but I am almost afraid to create my own. This fear probably stems from the fact that there are these professionals who are going to call you out on the fact that you have no idea what you are doing. There are so many talented people on here using this language, it feels like it is going to take me forever to catch up! I know this speaks to the notion of the ‘genius programmer’ and most package ecosystems are a team effort, but it really is a difficult mental hurdle to overcome.

I am currently reading the Hands-On Design Patterns book by Tom Kwong, which I have found to be excellent. Is anyone aware of any more resources that could help me to understand how to go about programming in a more Julian way? Maybe even some advice on what they did to get started? I am also going through the documentation when I have the time, but there is so much information to take in.

I have also found a guide by Chris Rackauckas on developing packages. However, that speaks more toward the actual creation of the package once the code is ready to go (if I understand it correctly).

Please let me know if I am not being clear enough or if this question has been asked before.

Dawie

2 Likes