Learning by reading source code

I am relatively new to Julia.

In order to learn how to write good code, I was thinking of reading the source code of some “simple” packages. That would help me, I think.

Can you suggest some packages that would be suitable for me, as a newcomer to Julia?

Any other ideas apart from the one I am mentioning here?

I am currently reading “Think Julia”, which I like a lot, but I think it is not enough for me.

Another idea that I have is perhaps look for people in the area of Barcelona, Spain (or no matter where) and have the possibility of exchanging knowledge, practices, pieces of advice …

Any suggestions are welcome

What’s your background? The package I would suggest depends fairly heavily on where you’re coming from.
If you’re mathy, Primes.jl is pretty clean.
If you’re CS, maybe Datastructures.jl?
If you’re Bio, there’s a ton of bio code out there.

1 Like

I guess it also depends what you mean by “writing good code”:

2 Likes

This also reminds me of the following articles / documents, which are less Julia-specific though

my background is Business Administration, although I started “telecom” engineering studies (and didn’t finish them), and I am relatively fluent, with some limitations, in math and statistics.

I also like to download stock market quotes, put them in DataFrames and try to find patterns as if I were an investor.

Right now I am reading about the “structs” in Julia, and try to understand how they would mimic the OOP paradigm, although I already know that Julia, with its multiple dispatch philosophy just follows an alternative paradigm.

I hope this helps

Where to start? Forget OOP in the first place…

1 Like

I try to, but I’m coming from python !!!