Random effect MixedModels

Hi,
I used MixedModels package a couple of times in the past as a faster alternative to R’s lmer. Recently I downloaded latest official Julia version (0.6.3) and tried with some datasets. I compared the results with old MixedModels and Julia version, and I found that random effects are not matching at all (using ranef(lmeModel, named=true)). Digging little deeper i managed to match them using the following snippet:

randomEff = transpose(ranef(lmeModel, named=true)[1])
rows, columns = names(randomEff)
randomDF = DataFrame(randomEff)
names!(randomEff.colindex, map(parse, columns))
randomEff[:store] = unique(lmeModel.trms[1].f)
dfCols = randomEff.colindex.names
randomEff = stack(randomEff,dfCols[1:end-1], :store)

Now random effects appear very close to old results.
The question is: Am I doing something wrong or there is an issue with random effects in new version?
Please note that I have very little experience with Julia.

This is https://github.com/dmbates/MixedModels.jl/issues/130 which I hope to address today.

1 Like

I am having difficulty reproducing the problem and would appreciate a reproducible example. Either I have somehow introduced a reordering or I misunderstand the relationship between the refs and the levels of a CategoricalArray.

I may need help from @nalimilan if it is a misunderstanding of the innards of the CategoricalArrays package. For some reason I am still confused by the documentation and the code in that package. The fact that this hinges on the order of unique(lmeModel.trms[1].f) is very, very strange to me.

I guess that’s due to the fact that you use refs as if its values corresponded to the order in which levels are presented, while it actually refers to the internal order of the levels (index). You need to use CategoricalArrays.order(x.pool)[x.refs] to get codes corresponding to user-visible ordering of levels.

Okay, thanks.