Questions about a starting language, is Julia good (enough)

Hello,
I am a beginner who wants to choose a suitable programming language. I searched on the internet and I know that there are many programming languages. To be honest, Python was praised everywhere and I don’t like this language because almost everyone knows it. Of course, its large community helps make it popular, and that’s a plus. I have some questions:

1- I have heard that Julia wants to become a programming language like Python. Is this true?

2- Julia programming language is suitable for writing what programs?

3- Is Julia programming language suitable for artificial intelligence?

4- Is Julia programming language suitable for web and Android?

Please answer my questions by number and share with me your experience with Julia programming language.

Thank you.

I actually pasted ur post word for wordinto copilot and it gave a decent answer. Will not paste here though.

Maybe I will share some of my non ai thoughts. The future is either Julia or Mojo. But python and r will be here for a long time. Heck even Matlab stata and SAS and co will be here for a while. Definitely until I retire from work in abt 20 years time.

Might as pick something and learn it.

2 Likes

HI and welcome to the forum

1- that depends a lot on how you define “like Python”

• untyped? No.
  • fighting dependencies and incompatible versions of packages and python itself? No
  • Being easy to use? Sure!

Of course, since Julia is newer, it took inspiration in its design fro quite a few languages, but it is also different in several aspects, see Noteworthy Differences from other Languages · The Julia Language for an overview.

2- That depends maybe also a bit for everyone. For me it is the perfect language to both do teaching in Numerical Mathematics in as well as my own research in Optimisation and Numerical Analysis involving Differential Geometry.