How does Julia compare with Nim, Go and Crystal for Artificial Intelligence?

Hello, I’m new to programming and I considered these languages. Firstly I choose Julia as it is simple and said it’s built for computing specifically. But when compared with other languages like nim it is slower in that area. Is Julia becoming general language?

But julia is general purpose programming language.

4 Likes

what is slower?

Julia has always been. If you think Python is general language (it is a glue in reality), then Julia is no less general.

4 Likes

It is slower when calculating digits of pi, matrix multiplication(by some tests) and this one: https://lh3.github.io/2020/05/17/fast-high-level-programming-languages it shows that nim and crystal are both faster.
For the general language part, I don’t really know what I meant by that, guess I just did too little research.

these are examples of highly optimized (down to assembly code) subroutine, there’s not reason to think Julia should magically be faster.

I don’t know what that bio stuff benchmark is doing, see:

but there are plenty of examples where Julia is faster than X:

And finally, the point is not “Julia is always faster than everyone in any cases no matter what”, that’s just impossible. Also it doesn’t matter, hell, if python is just 10x slower in almost all cases, say, compare to today’s Julia. we won’t need millions of lines of code for Numpy Numba and numerous C/C++ code piles on top of each other and Julia may never be invented in the first place.

To this end, I don’t see how Nim, Go, Crystal, Rust are replacement: there’s not enough user (think grad students in science who never took formal training in CE) facing high level library and scripting ability.

3 Likes