Problem standardizing data with MLJ + NaN predictions in Flux

I’m new to Julia and Flux so I suspect this may be something dumb that I may be missing…

I was trying to do some pre-processing in order to train a NN using Flux and ended up stuck with two problems:

1. The predictions of the Neural Network were all NaN. I suspected that the parameters were not being updated but it turns out that they were but still I get only NaNs.

2. The Standardizer() transformer from MLJ is not able to apply inverse_transform to the normalized arrays for the evaluation of the NN as it results in a LoadError: type Nothing has no field names (see stacktrace below). The weird thing is that the transformation seems to have been carried out as expected when the values of the normalized DataFrames are printed.

I also had problems with the Standardizer() not scaling Int64 features in the DataFrame which were resolved by just converting manually (lines 21:23). I wonder if there’s any better way to do it.

The data was downloaded from this Kaggle dataset page

The whole script that reproduces these two problems is pasted below:

using Flux
using CSV
using DataFrames
using MLJ
using ScientificTypes
using Tables

function preprocess(x, y; train_size = 0.8)

columns_to_delete = [
        "FLUVENTS",
        "DYSTROPEPTS",
        "ORTHENTS",
        "UDALFS",
        "USTALFS",
    ]

select!(x, Not(columns_to_delete))

for feature in names(x)
        x[!, feature] = convert.(Float64, x[:, feature])
    end

limit = trunc(Int64, size(x, 1) * train_size)

xtrain = x[begin:limit, :]
    xtest =  x[limit:end,   :]

ytrain = y[begin:limit, :]
    ytest =  y[limit:end,   :]

xtrain_std_mach = machine(Standardizer(), xtrain)
    ytrain_std_mach = machine(Standardizer(), ytrain)

xtest_std_mach  = machine(Standardizer(), xtest)
    ytest_std_mach  = machine(Standardizer(), ytest)

norm_xtrain = MLJ.transform(fit!(xtrain_std_mach), xtrain)
    norm_xtest  = MLJ.transform(fit!(xtest_std_mach), xtest)