Port Julia to AIX: How to do?

Hi,
My first question in Julia forum. I hope I’m using the correct category.
I’m studying the port of Julia to AIX/PowerPC64. I’ve already searched for some information about: HowToPort, but I found nothing. Is there a place where information dealing with porting Julia to a new OperatingSystem is available?
I’ve started to look at the port of Julia to Fedora/PowerPC64LE. Build is OK and 36.8 millions of tests are Pass, 38.6 on Fedora/x86_64 . LLVM on AIX builds and there are only 276 failures, out of about 16.000 tests. So, it looks to me that there is a correct basis for starting the port. Correct?
I’d like to know what are the main things to change and adapt, and how we have to proceed. We are looking for a student to do the port.
Thanks
Tony

2 Likes

Doing a port to a new operating system is a non-trivial endeavor. You’re lucky in that libuv already supports it, so you don’t have to worry about the I/O system. The big other OS specific thing in Julia is task/signal handling, memory management for executable pages, unwind handling, as well as potentially some work to handle ABI difference (don’t know if the AIX system ABI matches the standard ABI - I would expect that it does since IBM controls everything, but who knows). You’ll also need to build a BinaryBuilder toolchain to get binaries built for all the packages, though there isn’t really great documentation for that. Overall it’s definitely a doable thing for an engineer experienced in operating systems and build system messes, but a student would have to be willing to put up with a lot of frustration to get it done.

6 Likes