Plot the confidence interval for a model fit

I’m no data scientist, so it’s likely that my question does not make much sense… But here goes:

I recently tried to do some data analysis that involved fitting models. I’m able to fit the model, compute represent a prediction that it produces, but I’d like to also (compute and) represent confidence intervals for the model.

Here is my minimal (but incomplete) example:

using DataFrames
data = DataFrame(x = rand(100));
data.y = 1 .+ 2*data.x .+ 0.1*rand(100);

using GLM
model = lm(@formula(y ~ x), data)
pred = DataFrame(x = 0:0.01:1);
pred.y = predict(model, pred);

using Plots
plot(xlabel="x", ylabel="y", legend=:bottomright)
plot!(data.x, data.y, label="data", seriestype=:scatter)
plot!(pred.x, pred.y, label="model", linewidth=3)
savefig("/tmp/plot.png")

plot

To rephrase (because I’m not even sure to use the correct words here): I’d like to represent the uncertainty about the model using a shaded area around the “model” curve.

Is there a (not too complicated) way to do that? Ideally, the solution should be as independent of the model as possible, because my real use-case involves more complex models…

4 Likes

If you replace your last plot! statement (before savefig) with:

plot!(pred.x, pred.y, ribbon=(fill(0.3,length(pred.x)),0.5.+0.1*cos.(10pi*pred.x)),fc=:orange,fa=0.3,label="model", linewidth=3)

you get:

OK – my example of ribbon argument is not realistic, but then I don’t know how to use GLM… If GLM lets you produce prediction confidence intervals, my example should give an idea of how you can do it.

5 Likes

Could you try ]add StatsPlots#mkb/statsmodels? It’s the branch of this PR https://github.com/JuliaPlots/StatsPlots.jl/pull/293
Check the example in the first comment for usage. If you comment on the PR with your experiences we can merge it and make this available to everyone.

1 Like