Weighted linear regression with confidence interval fitted to error bars

Hi,
I’m pretty new to Data Science.
I have some Data with measurement errors and I want to fit a linear model.

using DataFrames
using GLM
using StatsPlots

df = DataFrame(x = [0.0, 0.0669873, 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, 0.933013, 1.0],
y = [0.223, 0.291, 0.393, 0.549, 0.73, 0.85, 0.896],
u_y = [0.023, 0.024, 0.027, 0.031, 0.037, 0.041, 0.043])

# Weighted Least Squares
wlr = glm(@formula(y~x), df, Normal(), wts = 1 ./ df.u_y.^2)

x_interval = DataFrame(x = 0:0.01:1);
pred = predict(wlr, x_interval, interval = :confidence)
@df df scatter(:x, :y, yerror = :u_y)
plot!(x_interval.x, pred.prediction,
ribbon = (pred.prediction .- pred.lower, pred.upper .- pred.prediction))

I get this result:
plot
The confidence interval should get plotted but it is so small that you can’t even see it.
Shouldn’t it be as wide as the measurement errors?
How do I fit it accordingly?

Thank your for all answers and have a nice day :slight_smile:

1 Like

Your question is hopefully answered here Plot the confidence interval for a model fit

1 Like

GLM.jl’s glm does not interpret the weights wts as inverse variances but as prior frequencies:

- `wts::Vector=similar(y,0)`: Prior frequency (a.k.a. case) weights of observations.
      Such weights are equivalent to repeating each observation a number of times equal
      to its weight. Do note that this interpretation gives equal point estimates but
      different standard errors from analytical (a.k.a. inverse variance) weights and
      from probability (a.k.a. sampling) weights which are the default in some other
      software.
      Can be length 0 to indicate no weighting (default).

There are two different confidence intervals to consider, the confidence interval for the posterior mean, and the interval for a new measurement. You are talking about the interval for a new measurement, which contains uncertainty about both the mean and the measurement.

2 Likes