How to execute tasks in parallel in a for loop

I’m quite new to Julia programming, and I’m looking for a better way to parallelize the execution of a for loop. Basically, the logic I have in the following code needs to be executed in parallel.

data = []
        for point in points
            features_api = get_data_from_api(point)
            features_db = get_data_from_db(point)
            push!(data, [features_api, features_db])
        end

When I looked for options, I saw that there are different ways to achieve this, such as @threads, @spawn, etc. However, it seems like these are not parallel but rather concurrent utilities.

My expectation is to utilize all the cores in the CPU to run each iteration in parallel. Any thoughts are welcome.

data = []
        for point in points
           do_task_in_parallel()
        end

// Wail all tasks to be finished

1 Like

Preallocate the array then use loopvectorization.

Also, use tuple or struct to store each element of result instead of an array. An array will allocate new memory and add indirection.

I don’t understand the distinction you are making?

The julia manual adopts a certain nonstandard terminology, where “concurrent” means many cpu-threads living inside the same julia process / address space, and “parallel” means many cpu-threads that each live in separate processes (optionally: on different nodes of a cluster), and “async” means that somebody else can run while a julia Task waits on IO (“cooperative multi-tasking”).

============

Critical question is how expensive your tasks (get_data_from_api, get_data_from_db) are, how many you have and how uniform their costs are.

If you need to parallelize cheap tasks, then you need to bunch them together into fewer larger ones, because of synchronization overhead. If your tasks are already largish, then you can create concurrent julia Tasks for them immediately.