Optimisation Problems with HDF5 Data

Dear all,

this problem might be a bit too general, but I hope you can point me into the right direction to learn what’s going on behind the scenes and how to get out the best performance.

I am still a Julia newbie and did almost everything science related with Python/Cython/Numpy/Numba in the past years. I decided to switch, for obvious reasons.

So, I have a large dataset stored in an HDF5 file and another one which holds the information how the data needs to be split.
The main data is basically a stream of hits in a neutrino detector and the second dataset stores the indices and lengths of the events (aka time slices). To read an event or a bunch of events, I need to look up the hit indices and pull out the corresponding hits, while all hits of an event are stored continuously.
I usually have to deal with something like 900mio hits and about 25000 events per file, roughly.

The final goal is to create a high level access to the data, so that analysis and reconstructions are doable event-by-event with a vector of Hits.

My very first baby step was defining a struct for the hits:

immutable Hit
    channel_id
    time
    tot
end

And with kind help from the gitter channel (thanks again!), I got this function to be able to unpack the values of the matrices within a list comprehension:

rows(x) = (x[i, :] for i in indices(x,1))

And this is my attempt to create an array of Hit-vectors from a file:

function read_timeslices(filename, start, stop)
    f = h5open(filename, "r")
    ts_info = f["timeslice_info"][:, start:stop]'   # index and length of the time slices
    first = ts_info[1, 1] + 1                       # index of first hit
    last = ts_info[end, 1] + ts_info[end, 2]        # index of last hit
    data = f["timeslice_hits"][1:3, first:last]'    # raw hit data as matrix

# this line creates 18mio allocations for 70000 hits
    hits = [Hit(r...) for r in rows(data)]          # create Hit vector