Accessing vector fields

Hi everyone, hope you are all healthy.

I’m a mechanical engineering student and I come from MATLAB, so I am sorry for my heresies.

I currently am working on a NASTRAN .hdf5 output. There is a package to open such files, that stores informations in a vector with several fields (hope it is the correct word!) as shown in the following piece of code:

GRIDcard
111403-element Array{HDF5.HDF5Compound{7},1}:
 HDF5.HDF5Compound{7}((567377, 0, [-76.9957, -13.1615, -82.5], 0, 0, 0, 1), ("ID", "CP", "X", "CD", "PS", "SEID", "DOMAIN_ID"), (Int64, Int64, HDF5.FixedArray{Float64,(3,)}, Int64, Int64, Int64, Int64))
 HDF5.HDF5Compound{7}((567378, 0, [-74.1493, -12.1665, -82.5], 0, 0, 0, 1), ("ID", "CP", "X", "CD", "PS", "SEID", "DOMAIN_ID"), (Int64, Int64, HDF5.FixedArray{Float64,(3,)}, Int64, Int64, Int64, Int64))

I would like to save all X entries in a single matrix defined as:

GRID = [
X[1]'
X[2]'
X[n]'
]

Is it possible to do it without a for loop that reads all entries as:

GRID = zeros(n,3)
for i = 1:n
    GRID[i,:] = GRIDcard[i].data[3]
end

Thank you all in advance, and I hope I haven’t broken too many rules!

Welcome to the Julia discourse!

Loops are generally fast in Julia, but if you want to do it without a loop, you could use a comprehension

GRID = vcat([GRIDcard[i].data[3] for i = 1:n]...).
1 Like

Note that using vcat in this way is unnecessarily slow both at compile time (because you end up calling a function with n arguments, and n can be very large), and at run time (because Julia isn’t well-optimized to handle function calls with huge numbers or arguments).

(I’m demonstrating here with hcat instead, since that seems closer to the loop result in the original code, but the result applies to vcat or hcat).

For example:

julia> data = [rand(3) for _ in 1:1000000];

julia> @btime hcat($data...);
  38.808 ms (7 allocations: 38.15 MiB)

You’ll get the same result with better performance from reduce(hcat, ...), like this: