Optimal model creation (and garbage collection)

Hi! I’m rather new to JuMP (and Julia) and I’m trying to compare the speed of creating a model using JuMP to an existing Python project (trying to decide whether it would be beneficial to switch to JuMP, now that 1.0 is “here”).

I’m using the following function to create a simple model with 10000 timesteps and a variable size:

function create_model(size)
    I = 1:size
    T = 1:10000

model = JuMP.Model()
    @variable(model, x[I, T], lower_bound=0, upper_bound=100)
    @constraint(model, [i in I, t in T[2:end]], -10 <= x[i, t] - x[i, t-1] <= 10)
    @objective(model, Min, sum(x[i, t] for t in T for i in I))
    return model
end

This is just:

min \sum_{i\in I, t\in T} x_{i,t} \\ s.t. \\ \qquad 0 \leq x_{i,t} \leq 100 \qquad \forall i\in I, t\in T \\ \qquad |x_{i,t} - x_{i,t-1}| \leq 10 \qquad \forall i\in I, t \in T \backslash \{1\}

Now I have two questions:

1. I assume there is a more efficient way to construct this problem (constructing the same problem in the Python is considerably faster; but the Python code is pretty optimized)? Any tips/tricks?
  2. Benchmarking the time it takes to construct, I see GC at around 40%. I tried disabling the garbage collector beforehand (using GC.enable(false)) but I feel like that should not be the go-to solution, right? Is there any way to “configure” the garbage collector, …?
BenchmarkTools.Trial: 3 samples with 1 evaluation.
 Range (min … max):  1.438 s …    1.880 s  ┊ GC (min … max): 31.25% … 45.86%
 Time  (median):     1.817 s               ┊ GC (median):    41.84%
 Time  (mean ± σ):   1.712 s ± 239.067 ms  ┊ GC (mean ± σ):  40.34% ±  7.55%

Thanks for any hints,
Stefan

1 Like

Welcome to the community!

I am curious, because this is the second question in a few days concerning the time for model building. Does that time (< 2s) makes a difference in your case?