Slow generation of a large LP model in JuMP

[Wall of text incoming, beware!]

I’m a Julia novice and have been playing around with JuMP over the last month or so. All my small scale test models worked beautifully, so I finally decided to dive into the deep end of the pool and try a full scale model.

So I spent last week translating a global energy system model from GAMS to JuMP. The model has roughly 1500 lines of code and reads input data from three external spreadsheets. It generates a pure LP problem with 7-30 million equations (depending on parameterization) and roughly the same number of variables. But it’s just an LP so CPLEX solves it easily in about 30 seconds on a standard quad-core desktop. That’s the smallest version of the model, larger versions may need up to a few hours.

The JuMP version works, that’s the good news. However, it’s disappointingly slow: GAMS generates the model and sends it to CPLEX in 10 seconds, but my JuMP implementation needs 220 seconds. Almost all this time is spent generating the model constraints. JuMP also eats about twice the memory (but my computer has plenty of RAM so there’s no slowdown due to memory swapping). Interestingly, model generation time doesn’t scale much with model size: a larger version of my model with twice the rows and twice the columns generates in 260 seconds.

I’ve seen a few benchmarks that suggest that JuMP should be roughly as fast as GAMS, so I suppose my implementation is to blame for these performance issues. I hope I can get some pointers on how to speed things up. Here’s a summary of what I’ve done.

Most “sets” of the model (using GAMS terminology) are vectors of symbols. The only exception is the time set, which is a vector of integers. Examples:

primary = [:bio1, :bio2, :hydro, :wind, :solar, :gas1, :gas2, :oil1, :oil2, :coal1, :coal2, :uranium1, :uranium2]
sector = [:elec, :central_heat, :dist_heat, :solid_heat, :non_solid_heat, :feedstock, :transport]