Nondimensionalization of population dynamics ODE models but not pharmacokinetics ODE models

Hey folks, just a question based on curiosity. Although I am still relatively new to differential equations modelling, I do notice some of the variations in the methods and discourse in different fields. One such apparent difference that I have noticed, is that while the biology and population dynamics literature places great emphasis on non-dimensionalizing ODEs to reduce the number of parameters and understand the dynamics of these models, I don’t notice much import given to non-dimensionalization in pharmacokinetics or reaction dynamics models. Further, it seems like both population dynamics models and pharmacokinetics or reaction dynamics models are not so different in structure. Perhaps I am just reading a subset of papers, and so I missed deeper discussions on non-dimensionalization in pharmacokinetics models. My understanding is certainly limited by the breadth of my experience with these literatures, so if I am mistaken, then please correct me.

So I proceed assuming that there is some validity to my observation. As I understand it, mathematicians non-dimensionalize their models to reduce the number of parameters–or perhaps better isolate the critical parameters. Reducing the parameters makes it easier to explore the dynamics of the system by narrowing the search space. Indeed, many of the expositions on the virtues of non-dimensionalizing parameters come from population dynamics papers–such as those by Leah Segel “Simplification and Scaling,” or the book by Murray Mathematical Biology volume 1.