Newbie questions coming from Python/C++

Hi, I have extensive experience in Python and C++ and am trying out Julia. There’s a lot that I like from what I’ve seen so far, really nice language, packaging, documentation, introspection of generated code (cool!). I might even get used to the 1-based indexing.

Some basic questions:

• Modules and packages in Python are fairly straightforward to use. You actually can’t get around them once you split your sources into multiple files, as module names match with source file names. With Julia there seems to be at least two ways to structure larger projects: includes and modules, where modules only have a loose correlation to files. But as modules seems to be the basis for precompilation I’d like to take advantage of them, but I’m searching for a good reference on common ways to structure larger projects in Julia. For example, the docs show an example of constructing a module by including several Julia files. Is that really the idiomatic way to do it? By the way, this relates mostly to structuring during development, not to deploying completed a package.

• What’s the best way to have a struct member that is an editable fixed-size 1-dimensional array of simple values (e.g. bool), where the size of the array is only known at run-time (and of small size, say less than 100 items)? In C++ I would use a std::vector<bool> and it seems in Julia Vector{Bool} would be more-or-less the equivalent. But I see SVector and friends being used for performance reasons. I can easily create one of those at run-time as soon as the size is known, but I’m unclear as to specifying the field type in that case. E.g. n = <some length>; v = SVector{n,Bool}(fill(false,n)) works, but how then to add a field b of the correct (and specific) type to a struct S?