How to structure project in julia

I’m new to Julia (2 weeks of exp). I would like to port and extend existing project from C++/python to julia. I’m having big difficulties in structuring my project. The project will contain roughly 50-100 files/modules, some modules will depend on other modules in the project. Coming from C++/python naturally I was expecting following layout to work out of the box:

#file ModuleA.jl
module ModuleA
end

#file ModuleB.jl
module ModuleB.jl
using ModuleA # or .ModuleA
end

To my surprise ModuleB will not import dependent ModuleA. I’ve been researching this subject for a week and haven’t found good solution. I found following options:

1. Add project directories to LOAD_PATH

Upsides:

• local modules just work ™
  • push!(LOAD_PATH, …) can be added to startup file
  • project startup file can be added to vscode settings "julia.additionalArgs": "-L${workspaceFolder}/startup.jl"

Downsides:

• feels hacky
  • project can’t have Project.toml, so can’t become a package
  • compiled modules pollute local\share\julia\compiled\v1.9\ with dlls
  • Pluto disregards julia -Lstartup.jl, so LOAD_PATH must be amended in every notebook

2. Use include

Include file followed by .using

#file ModuleB.jl
module ModuleB.jl
include("ModuleA.jl")
using .ModuleA
end

This doesn’t work when more than one dependency includes the same file due to lack of include once semantics, there is no #pragma once or #ifdef to my knowledge, I rate this option as worse than C.

3. FromFile

FromFile looks great at first glance

#file ModuleB.jl
module ModuleB.jl
@from "ModuleA.jl" using ModuleA
end

but there are a few problems:

• module are wrapped in additional modules, this changes module tree
  • modules loaded into Main are wrapped differently than modules loaded from other modules so types often differ typeof(b.a) != typeof(a), potentially problematic for dispatching
  • @from … using … doesn’t work in Pluto

4. Create one monolithic file