How to structure a mid-sized OOP-like project physically and logically - Types.jl, Submodules or "deep Hierarchies"?

Hey there Julians!

I’m still a bloody beginner with Julia, but want to start with a medium size OOP-structured project. (I’m also a CS student, so I’m still learning how to engineer software the right way)

I started writing a prototype of a project(a board game), but I started running in so many issues related to project structure, usage of modules and submodules etc… and tools - I want autocomplete and the linter(VSCode) to work! :smiley:

I haven’t found any good resource in the last 2 weeks, where someone outlines a good strategy in a detailed way. I’ve read many threads, which answered many questions, but still not all.
I’ve picked up all the Julia Packt Books, but I haven’t found something specific regarding this topic. In one book (Best Practices and … Julia Packt - something like this) the author suggested in a very short side note to use “types.jl” file to define all your types.

I’m not sure which way is the best practice (in a OOP-like style/way) in Julia. I think I’ve found kind of 3 ways how I could handle this. If there are other ways you are welcome to share them!

Side Note: I would love to be able to use autocomplete and linter, I think this can’t work at the moment for some strategies - for example splitting the code in files (but not submodules) and include the files in the main package file. I think here the linter and autocompleter wouldn’t work - correct me if I’m wrong!

In the following I’m showing my project in a very simplified way. I’ve written it only with this editor, so probably this code isn’t runnable and has some mistakes, but I think you get the differences and my resulting question out of it.