New Book on Julia "Introduction to Julia Programming: For Scientists and Engineers"

Hello everybody,

I wrote a book on working with Julia and I believe it can help absolute beginners quite well. Please have a look at the same. Its available at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521233411

Next one will concentrate on scientific computing especially solving differential equations for real life situations.

regards

Dr. Sandeep nagar

Interesting to see Chapter 2 is on object-oriented programming, the intro to that chapter says “Python is an OOP language”, bolded is “In the julian world, everything is an object”, and there’s no mention of multiple dispatch in either the the ToC or the index. I assume there was an error?

I looked at the TOC and the free samples on Amazon. A lot of content seems to be enumeration of functions (eltype does this, gcd does that, etc). Given the price, perhaps you could explain why it is better than reading the first few chapters of the manual.

1 Like

It makes more money :slight_smile: I think Julia education is a young market that will grow at an incredible rate everywhere in the world at once. Being an early market entrant gives you advantages in the country/city you are in. In the future it will be easier to add new chapters to the book, than writing it from scratch, and maybe make specialized and translated versions for some specific applications and in specific languages, thus more money :slight_smile: Beside looking good on the CV, backing you up as the Julia guy/lady in your institution, it can also make you at peace with the knowledge you write in there, thus helping the writer even more than it helps the readers. Even if the books can’t possibly replace the docs IMHO, I think it’s a trend that will start some time (might as well be now), just like all those books on other programming languages out there. And some people might just prefer a hard cover! That’s just my 2 cents.