Need a combinatorial optimizer for black box function

I’m looking for a combinatorial optimizer (decision variables are a permutation of the integers 1, 2, \ldots, N, where N is between, say, 50, and 500, for a black box function (i.e., only the value of the objective function is obtainable, no derivatives.). This is for a short-fuse project, so I would prefer a solution that I can just plug in and use as-is without extensive customization. I am aware of Combo which looks like it is untouched for > 3 years and doesn’t work under Julia 1.x. I’ve also looked at MHLib which might be made to work but has no documentation, so it may require quite a bit of time and effort to understand and set up properly. Any other leads would be appreciated. I have very little experience with JuMP but I am open to using it if someone can explain how it can be used for this type of problem.

I’ve also considered using a continuous variable optimizer, say, DE or CMA-ES, where the N floating-point decision variables are bounded between 0 and 1, and the permutation is inferred by their order. Can anyone comment on the advantages/pitfalls of using such a scheme?

Thanks in advance!

I don’t have a suggestion, but JuMP is not suitable for this problem: https://jump.dev/JuMP.jl/stable/background/should_i_use/#Black-box,-derivative-free,-or-unconstrained-optimization

In general, this seems like a very difficult problem. Even for N=50, there are something like 10^64 possible solutions…

You’re going to need more domain knowledge in order to solve this.

Thanks, I suspected JuMP was not right for this problem and I appreciate your confirming this.

Regarding the difficulty, I think it is not too bad. I’ve used a Matlab genetic algorithm years ago for a similar problem and it worked quite well. I just don’t want to have to spend the time translating and debugging the Matlab code if there is a canned solution waiting for me.