BlackBoxOptim - beginner's questions

I am new to solving optimization problems. So please excuse any ignorance in my questions.

I am using BlackBoxOptim.jl, and I have a few questions:

1. Initial guess and search range.
    I see that there is an optional argument of SearchRange. What happens when no range is specified? What is the initial guess? Is it random or deterministic? Is there a way to control the initial guess?

2. Stopping condition.
    In case I do not know the minimum of the function, and therefore cannot use the TargetFitness parameter, what is the stopping condition of the optimizer? I guess that if it gets to more than MaxSteps iterations, it stops. But is there a way to provide other conditions? Like the wanted tolerance of the fitness function?

3. Keeping track of the results.
    Is there a way to log the attempted values by the optimizer? I am interested to see which regions in the parameter space were explored, and what was the value of the fitness function.

4. Choosing an optimizer.
    I do not know how to choose an optimizer. I read in the documentation the guide so I am using the recommended adaptive_de_rand_1_bin_radiuslimited and de_rand_1_bin DE. To that I compare the results of the random_search. Is there some more advice on how to choose / compare between the optimizers? (My problem has dimensions of O(100)).

2 Likes

I’m in the same boat and have a lot of similar questions, but I can also help with some answers maybe.

1. It seems like the initial guess is randomly drawn from the initial range, which is (-1,1) if no range is provided.

2. I just modified my objective function to print its arguments, which seems to work fine.

Thanks for the input!

Sorry for missing these questions earlier. Anyway: