Matrix-vector multiplication slower than a 'naive' for loop?

Hi,

I’m new to Julia and have been playing around with it to test its performance claims.

I am looking to multiply a matrix X by a sparse vector β, generated via the following code:

n = 500
p = 100000

β = rand(p); 
zero_indices = Int[]
nonzero_indices = Int[]
for i in 1:p
    if rand() > 0.3
        push!(zero_indices, i)
    else
        push!(nonzero_indices, i)
    end
end
for i in zero_indices
    β[i] = 0 
end 
X = rand(n, p);

I tried three ways to do this:

1. Using the * operator, i.e. computing v = X * β.
  2. Using a for loop:
v = zeros(size(X)[1])
for i in 1:length(β)
    v += X[:, i] * β[i]
end
  1. Using a for loop, but iterating only over those indices for which β[i] is non-zero (stored in an integer array named nonzero_indices).
v = zeros(size(X)[1])
for i in nonzero_indices
end

I used the @benchmark macro to time each of these approaches. Here are the mean times:

1. 28.182 ms
  2. 1.272 μs
  3. 1.132 μs

It makes sense to me that method 3 is faster than method 2: we’re looping over fewer things. I suspected it may even be faster than method 1, since we’re leveraging the sparsity of the vector β. But why on earth is method 2 so much faster than method 1? That is, why is a for loop implementation of matrix-vector multiplication so much faster than an operator dedicated to this computation?

Thanks!

Double-check your benchmarking code. I’m getting:

julia> @btime f1($X, $β);
  19.875 ms (1 allocation: 4.06 KiB)

julia> @btime f2($X, $β);
  186.214 ms (300001 allocations: 1.16 GiB)

julia> @btime f3($X, $β, $nonzero_indices);
  56.557 ms (89530 allocations: 355.19 MiB)

which makes sense given your observations. My function definitions are:

julia> function f1(X, β)
         X * β
       end
f1 (generic function with 1 method)

julia> function f2(X, β)
         v = zeros(size(X)[1])
         for i in 1:length(β)
         end
         v
       end
f2 (generic function with 1 method)