Looping over subset of array indices: Julia vs Python

I am new to Julia and currently trying to emulate some practices I’m used to in Python. One problem I am struggling with is how to best iterate over some of the indices of an array. For example, consider an array with size (nx, ny, nz). I want to apply a function that works on 1D arrays, so I do a loop over nx and ny to work on a subset of the array, say [i, j, :]. What is the best way to achieve this?

Here is an example for some code with a cumulative sum function, where I find my best Julia code is about twice as slow as Python. I can’t quite figure out why exactly Python is doing better here. Here’s the Python code and timings, for reference:

import numpy as np
from scipy.integrate.quadrature import cumtrapz 

(NX, NY, NZ) = (256, 256, 75)
z = np.linspace(0., 1.e3, NZ)
M = np.ones((NX, NY, NZ), dtype='f8')
out = np.empty_like(M)
%timeit cumtrapz(M[100, 100], x=z)

12.4 µs ± 249 ns per loop (mean ± std. dev. of 7 runs, 100000 loops each)

%timeit cumtrapz(M, x=z, axis=2)

44.3 ms ± 2.84 ms per loop (mean ± std. dev. of 7 runs, 10 loops each)

With Julia, I’m using NumericalIntegration.jl which provides a function called cumul_integrate that works similarly to cumtrapz. Here is my first try with Julia:

import NumericalIntegration: integrate, cumul_integrate, TrapezoidalFast
using BenchmarkTools

(NX, NY, NZ) = (256, 256, 75)
z = LinRange(0., 1.e3, NZ)
M = ones(Float64, (NX, NY, NZ))
out = similar(M);
@btime cumul_integrate(z, M[100, 100, :], TrapezoidalFast());

871.545 ns (6 allocations: 3.63 KiB)

@btime begin
    for j=1:256, i=1:256
        out[i, j, :] = cumul_integrate(z, M[i, j, :], TrapezoidalFast())
    end
end

127.190 ms (458752 allocations: 234.00 MiB)