Julia Language Server initialization performance issue

Hello,

I am new to Julia and using neovim in combination with julia-vim (syntax highlighting) and coc-julia (language server).

Having pasted just this small snippet in main.jl and started with nvim main.jl

# wait for ide to highlight syntax error
println(1 + 2

for x in ARGS; println(x); end
function ()

end

, the time to wait for IDE until error highlight has been 43 seconds.

I absolutely fell in love with julia. But this seems to be serious latency. My use case is to utilize julia as a fast-paced shell script replacement.

• Is this just my environment or usual julia startup time?
  • Is this fix being worked on ? (in some github issue someone said to work on it actively in 2021, cannot find the github issue anymore)

Thanks for clarifications!

julia version 1.7.2

I’m an emacs user, so I don’t have experience with coc-julia in particular. But I’d say that what you’re seeing here is not really the julia startup time (not sure what you mean exactly by that, though), but rather the startup time of the language server. The language server will indeed usually take a long time to start, although the situation has noticeably improved recently, and 43s seems a bit high for Julia 1.7.2.

The usual way to leverage this is to have a dedicated system image for the Language Server, but this probably has to be handled by your IDE when it launches the server. So I would try and look whether coc-julia can handle system images. A cursory look at its README seems to indicate that there is at least some support for this via the julia.CompileLanguageServerSysimg command.

2 Likes

You’re in the wrong town, buddy :slight_smile:

Julia is a compiled language, every time you run it, you pay the price of compilation.

You can create system images to reduce this, but these end up being 100s of Mb as they contain all the of the Julia runtime.

We call this the “First Time To Plot” problem, or FTTP or more generically FTTX