Is it possible to use Julia to speed up for loop against Python?

Hi all,

I’m new to Julia and want to do gradient-based optimization with a time-related model. The model is pretty simple and here is a link to the python version: tonic/snow17.py at master · UW-Hydro/tonic · GitHub

My question is about the optimization. Say I use the Adam optimizer and optimize some parameters, and this requires doing the iteration (epoch iteration). Meanwhile, the model itself is doing the iteration along the time dimension. If I use 150 epochs for optimization, and 365-day as the time steps, it will be 150*365. I have completed a PyTorch version but it is really slow even if I only do the forward pass without gradient-based optimization.

My question: is it possible to speed up the time step iteration with Julia? Some pseudo code:

for epoch in range(150): # epoch iteration for optimization. 
  # forward
  T = x_d.shape[0]  # time steps
  # some state variables. 
  model_swe = torch.zeros((T), requires_grad=True).float().to(device)
  outflow = torch.zeros((T), requires_grad=True).float().to(device)
  ait = torch.zeros((1), requires_grad=True).float().to(device)
  deficit = torch.zeros((1), requires_grad=True).float().to(device)
  w_i = torch.zeros((1), requires_grad=True).float().to(device)  # (batch, )
  w_q = torch.zeros((1), requires_grad=True).float().to(device)  # (batch, )
  dt = 24  # daily time series.
  prec = x_d[:, 0]  # precipitation
  tair = x_d[:, 1]  # air temperature
  ele = x_s[-1]  # elevation from static features.
  p_atm = 33.86 * (29.9 - (0.335 * ele / 100) +
                      (0.00022 * ((ele / 100) ** 2.4))).float()  # (batch, )
  params = model(x_d_norm[:,:])
  for i in range(T):
      # some parameters to be optimized. 
      fracsnow = params[i, 0]
      plwhc = 0.04
      # precipitation at this time step (mm)
      precip = prec[i]  # (batch,)
      t_air_mean = tair[i]  # (batch,)
      fracrain = 1.0 - fracsnow
      pn = precip * fracsnow * scf