Is anyone developing a SPA package like R/Shiny or Python/Dash?

I’m working on a simple climate model that I would like to put online with some nice and friendly widgets. It would be a perfect fit for a Single Page Application, especially if Julia had a package that made this as simple as Shiny for R or Dash for Python. I’m a complete webapp newbie, so doing it manually like @ChrisRackauckas isn’t on the table, at least not yet.

Is anyone already working on something similar for Julia? (Shoutout to @essenciary, developer of Genie.jl: you mentioned on Gitter last month that you might have a look at Shiny. Is this still on the map? Have you considered Dash as well?)

I think a simple webapp package like this would do wonders for evangelizing Julia. Oh incidentally, Shiny is GPL-3 and Dash is MIT licensed, so there are valuables lying around there just waiting to be stolen, hint hint … :slight_smile:

5 Likes

There is/was Escher.jl but I’m not sure what the current status is.

@shashi would know more.

Yes, that’s definitely on the roadmap but I can’t report any significant progress yet. I know Shiny, but Dash looks great and I’ll check it out too, thanks for the tip!

My plan is to use an existing UI toolkit and after some research, I identified 3 main options:
Syncfusion Modern HTML5 and JavaScript UI Controls Library | Syncfusion
OpenUi5 http://openui5.org/
PredixUI Predix UI – Learn From Scratch

If anybody can recommend other ones, please share.

The first 2 require generating an ungodly amount of JavaScript in order to setup and configure the UI elements - and generating JS from Julia sounds like a bad idea (if you know of any good way to do it, please comment, that would open interesting possibilities).

PredixUI looks like the best choice as the UI elements can be configured with JSON alone, providing a nice way of exchanging information between the Julia and the JS layers.

But all is not well with Predix either: