Web development with Julia - quick survey

Hi everyone!

We have released Genie v4 just a couple of weeks ago and we’re already looking forward to bringing more cool features. But with web development evolving so fast and with so many use cases and applications, we could really use your help to understand how can we make Genie work better for you!

I would love to learn more about your experience so far. What’s missing from Genie and Stipple in particular – and from Julia’s web development ecosystem in general? What’s good? What can be better?

Looking forward to hearing from you and if you can spare a few minutes, please fill this quick survey: Genie User Survey

Thanks!

12 Likes

I have some experience programming in julia, but I would really love to create things that users can interact with on the web. I just find there is a chasm from the ATOM REPL to doing things that other people can access and interact with in their browser.

I wish there was a library of minimal examples that I could access and learn from.

In my specific case, I wonder how I can create a user input box in a browser that allows people to enter a number, press a submit button, and then see a histrogram of all numbers that users have entered so far. Seeing a simple example of how to do that using Julia would be a great start for me, I think.

3 Likes

Dash.jl should work. Dash was originally for Python, now R and finally also officially Julia. I’ve done something similar in the Python version (to edit, not a histogram, while I think available, or most likely). Dash.jl should have the same capabilities, at least that’s the plan, and you can use the Python docs, they are very extensive, should map easily to Julia.

Stipple.jl is a Julia-only competitor, to dash, also with tutorial (I haven’t looked at them in a while), with similar functionality. Please compare the docs/tutorials (and the code). You can look into that, or just Genie.jl it builds on.