Image resizing while preserving average

Hello! I am new to Julia and need some help in image processing.

The arrays which I am working with are histogram 2D probability mass functions, so maintaining a sum of 1 in the image is important. What’s interesting, is that I have noticed that the ImageTransformations package’s imresize function does not preserve the average of the pixels, which is the behavior I would expect. For example, imagine you have a 8x8 image, and you want to resize to a 2x2 image. I would think that this would simply average the values in each 4x4 block to produce each pixel in the target image. However, this average is only preserved when down sampling by a factor of 2.

Here’s a MWE:

> a = rand(Normal(), (8,8))
> b = imresize(a, (2,2))
> c = imresize(a, (4,4))
> d = imresize(c, (2,2))
> mean(a)
x
> mean(b)
y
> mean(c)
x
> mean(d)
x

Is this expected behavior? I can’t figure out exactly how this works. I know that this is simple enough to implement, but I’ll be doing resizings that are not even multiples and will require interpolation that still preserves the average, in order to correctly scale values to maintain the probabilistic nature of the array.

Are there any existing solutions?

Image resizing is actually surprisingly complicated, both from a performance perspective and an accuracy perspective. I’ve taken a couple of computer vision classes, but I suspect I would get it wrong a few times if I had to implement it myself. You can see the implementation of imresize here: https://github.com/JuliaImages/ImageTransformations.jl/blob/master/src/resizing.jl including some helpful documentation about what it’s trying to do.

In answer to your question, I suspect the easiest way to handle this would be to record the previous average, perform the resize, and then add an offset to the resized image to fix its mean. E.g.

julia> a = randn(8, 8);

julia> b = imresize(a, (2, 2));

julia> b .+= mean(a) - mean(b)
2×2 Array{Float64,2}: