I'm here because there are some benchmarks I want to make use of that are written in Julia

Hello!

I’m brand new to Julia, and I’m an extremely inexperienced coder overall. I am working on an undergraduate research project and it includes some coding that we used Python for, nothing too fancy just a few scipy, numpy, a function from fftpack (the discreet cosine transform) and the pyplot packages. Our code is only about 150 lines.

We’re specifically studying non-linear eigenvalue problems, and we’re at a point where it would be really great for us to be able to generate non-linear eigenvalue problems, as well as be able to benchmark them. It just so happens that such a package exists on github: nep-pack.

Notice that this package is in Julia?

Okay, so here’s my question: what is the easiest way for me to make use this package?

So, it’s only 150 lines of code, I could re-write the algorithm in Julia, and I would have learned something cool.

However, my understanding is there is a way to use python packages in Julia and vice-versa…
Specifically, if I’m working in PyCharm, is it possible to download this nep-pack and install it as a plugin, then call it in my Python file? If someone knows how to do this and is willing to provide a step-by-step, it would be appreciated.

I suspect that the other way around would not be easier, but if it is, I managed to get Juno running.

Anyway, thanks for taking the time to offer your guidance, I’ll be sure to follow up with the post when I’ve made some progress!

edit:
There’s a thread about getting Julia to work with with PyCharm… seems hit and miss: Pycharm with Julia 1.0?

2 Likes

Have a look here:

Calling Julia from Python GitHub - JuliaPy/pyjulia: python interface to julia

Calling Python from Julia https://github.com/JuliaPy/PyCall.jl

2 Likes