I'm failing at "deploy"ing my first web-app with Dash.jl on JuliaHub

I have made a local package that takes data and sonifies it (sonification is when you map data to sound as opposed to visualization where you map it to visuals/graphs.) I now want to make some of its functionality accessible through a UI. I want people to be able to upload data (csv file), specify a handful of parameters, generate a sound file (an .ogg or maybe a .wav), play it, and download the file. I’ve settled on a web app so there’s no installation involved. I’m still learning software development and have zero knowledge of networking and all the frontend-backend stuff (what’s a port anyway?). I tried my hand at Genie, got frustrated with the GenieBuilder VSCode plugin. Tried Oxygen, but then that required more understanding of networking and http than I currently have and it seemed more suited for creating APIs (which I might consider in the future). I was able to make most progress with Dash.jl. They have decent julia-specific documentation with examples, though some of it is still lacking (like how to do user authentication). I’ve set up the UI skeleton that successfully does what I want on my local machine, though I’m just generating some random 1-second long sound for now and will plug in my actual sonification package later. I am running into issues with setting up the app on JuliaHub— issues that don’t occur on my machine.

• When I run it on the JuliaHub IDE, the app seemingly runs fine. But the sound file it produces is empty (zero seconds long).

• When I “Deploy” the app rather than running it using the JuliaHub IDE, I get an error that it “Failed to bundle project”.

If you have any advice on any of the specific topics above, I would be grateful.

If you have any pointers on how to get started with web apps and networking I would appreciate that too. Areas where I expect to be out of my depth: